Underwhelmed, Overwhelmed, Gin.

June 13, 2007

Underwhelmed: I went to the iheartplay exhibition today, or more accurately I went to where the iheartplay exhibition wasn’t. The only guy there didn’t have a clue what it was about or how it worked or how I could find out. I had a poke around on their computers to see if I could figure it out but there didn’t seem to be clues. I left underwhelmed. Lesson learned: If a company offers to do things for free, they’ll probably do shit job.

Overwhelmed: I discovered a series of animations made by studio aka called lovesport. The forms in them are incredibly simple but the animation is very inventive. They are based around humorous interpretations of a number of different sports. Take a look at qoob.tv.

Gin: Muddy Waters drinks gin: ‘I been drinkin gin like never before,’ Muddy Waters, I’m ready. Muddy Waters is a man:’I’m a man,’ Muddy Waters, Mannish Boy.

Thus we conclude gin is a man’s drink. Conclusive.

5 Responses to “Underwhelmed, Overwhelmed, Gin.”

  1. Fbrak Says:

    I see you are putting forward the case for gin being a man’s drink.
    The Muddy Waters argument is effective, but must only apply to neat gin.

  2. joe Says:

    turns out they only opened from 6pm – sorry you missed them 😦

  3. obourneo Says:

    in response to joe: it’s a shame I missed it but I think I can get a fair idea of the projects through the ones that have their own domain. I’ll check back to see how they progress over time.

    in response to fbrak: I’m sure that muddy would not have been averse to tonic or orange juice had they been readily available mississippi delta of the 1930s. I tried to find out more about the tipples of early blues men: i found out bukka white had a song called ‘good gin blues’ and memphis slim on called ‘whisky and gin blues’. I hope Memphis used whiskey as the mixer, that would be a real man’s drink.
    I could also have made the case for gin being the choice of 18th century a la ‘gin lane’ by hogarth.


  4. […] I’ve only been able to find two reviews of the iheartplay exhibition so far. Daniel Harris’ of SubSub, though brief, described the show as ‘well coordinated, felt coherent .. and in placed damn interesting’. The only other from a disappointed BAIMP student who unfortunately didn’t think to note the opening times and missed the show completely (found here). […]


  5. […] I’ve only been able to find two reviews of the iheartplay exhibition so far. Daniel Harris’ of SubSub, though brief, described the show as ‘well coordinated, felt coherent .. and in placed damn interesting’. The only other from a disappointed BAIMP student who unfortunately didn’t think to note the opening times and missed the show completely (found here). […]


Leave a Reply

